About the Society


To promote knowledge, understanding and excellence in telecommunications and its applications including the digital economy.


  • To engage with all participants in the telecommunications industry in Australia including governments, institutions, businesses, professionals, employees and users.
  • To inform and educate the community about telecommunications technologies, policies and issues.
  • To publish the Australian Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital Economy.
  • To build an archive of information relevant to telecommunications in Australia.
  • To promote continuing investment in telecommunications education, research, infrastructure and services.


  • Prof. Reg Coutts (President)
  • Graham Shepherd (Vice President)
  • Penny Fraser (Secretary)
  • Tim Herring (Treasurer)
  • Mark Gregory (Editor, AJTDE)
  • Peter Hormann
  • Brian Louey-Gung
  • Ken Sayers
  • Craig Watkins
  • Frank Zeichner

State Chapter Chairs:

  • Frank Zeichner (New South Wales)
  • Robert Tait (South Australia)
  • Peter Hormann (Victoria)

Email the Society


Membership of the Society is open to all who have an interest in telecommunications, its applications and its contribution to the digital economy.

Member benefits:

  • Free access to the Journal.
  • Free daily industry newsletter from CommsWire.
  • Participation in the activities of the Society at no charge or reduced rates.
  • Participation in the forums and discussion on the Society website.
  • Frequent opportunities for networking with peers in the ICT industry.

Annual subscription: $100.00; Accredited students: $30.00.


The Society hosts two keynote events each year:

The State Chapters organise regular events for members, often in collaboration with industry and affiliated organisations.

Schedule of Society activities

Refund policy

The Society is a not-for-profit organisation but it needs to build and maintain a reasonable cash position to sustain membership services. Membership fees will not normally be refunded. In the case of events a refund can be provided upon request if 48 hours' prior notice is given.

Australian Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital Economy

The Society publishes the peer reviewed "Australian Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital Economy".

See About the Australian Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital Economy.


The Charles Todd Medal is awarded by the Society for distinguished service to the telecommunications industry in Australia.

The Society, sponsored by Telstra, has offered in the past the Christopher Newell Prize each year for the best papers in the Journal addressing the needs of disabled people in the digital economy. We are looking for a new sponsor to ensure tthat we can maintain this important award.

The Society is a supporter of the annual iAwards programme which recognises innovation and entrepreneurship in the ICT industry.


The Society has a Privacy Policy and provides Guidelines to authors and contributors to help us achieve full compliance with community standards and Society aims and policies. These are accessible from the menu at the bottom of every page on the site.


Telecommunications Association Inc., ABN 34 732 327 053, is registered in Victoria adopting the Model Rules for an Incorporated Association under the Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012. See the Rules here: Rules of Telecommunications Association Inc. Some minor rule changes were formally adopted at the inaugural AGM in October 2014. These will be reflected in the Rules when they have been approved by the Victorian authority. In the meantime the marked up rules can be found here: 
Rules of the Telecommunications Association marked up with amendments in special resolutions

Registered office

Telecommunications Association Inc.
42 Erang Drive
Mount Eliza Victoria 3930


The Telecommunications Association Inc. (TelSoc) and its immediate predecessor, the Telecommunications Society of Australia, has served the Australian telecommunications industry as its learned society since its initial formation as the Telegraph Electrical Society in 1874, in response to enthusiasm for the then new engineering science of electrical telegraphy. Since then the Society has evolved in response to the industry’s growth through successive phases of industry restructuring: the introduction of telephony by the private sector (1880); nationalisation following Federation of Australia (1901); the passing of the Postmaster-General Department’s monopoly role (1902–1975) to the arms-length government business Telecom Australia (1975–92); and the introduction of competition with the staged privatisation of Telecom Australia’s successor, Telstra, in 1991, 1997 and 2005.

Throughout its 140-year history, the Society has kept industry members informed of new developments in network infrastructure, products and services, regulatory changes, end user experience and policy issues, through a combination of lunchtime lectures, major industry networking events, and the publication of newsletters and journals, most especially (from June 1935 to June 2013) the Telecommunications Journal of Australia, succeeded by the Australian Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital Economy.



The TelSoc Board may endorse an affiliation where there is "synergy in purpose oriented to a public good outcome." Current affiliations: