TelSoc News and Events

Submit nominations here.

The Charles Todd Medal is awarded each year to recognise individuals who have made outstanding contributions to telecommunications in Australia.

The Medal is named in honour of the leader and organiser of the team which connected Darwin to Adelaide by telegraph, and thus Australia to London and the rest of the world, in 1872. The global telegraph network might be retrospectively described as the original digital "world wide web".

Financial members of TelSoc have the privilege of nominating candidates for the 2015 Charles Todd Medal. This medal will be awarded to the individual considered to have made the most outstanding contribution to Australian telecommunications in recent years, excepting those who have previously been awarded the Charles Todd Medal.

In 2014 the medal was awarded to Simon Hackett, founder of Internode and a director of nbnTM.


The Selection Committee will make its recommendation to the TelSoc Board, based upon the nominations made by TelSoc members using this form. The Selection Committee will include members of the TelSoc Board plus external representatives of the wider telecommunications industry.

Recognising key contributors is an important part of developing and sustaining excellence in our industry and so your input to this initiative is greatly encouraged. 

Nominations close on Sunday 16 August 2015.

Submit nominations here.